American Life podcast

I listened to a podcast story of a feminist who was rampantly trolled online due to her stance on rape jokes. The troll posed as her dead father on twitter and blogged of how much of an embarrassment and an idiot she was. He eventually apologized to her and changed her view of trolls. She realized that they are ordinary people and they can change. No one should ever have to go through that but I had a hard time not giggling a little bit at certain parts. The “Donzo” last name especially got me. The ultimate finality of death being represented with as lighthearted and informal a term as “Donzo” is almost too much for me. I don’t believe there is any kind of afterlife. I believe that your consciousness fades from existence forever when your brain dies. The juxtaposition of something so serious next to something so silly is just makes me need to giggle. I think that the ultimate takeaway from this entire story is that people are dynamic and they can change. Even the worst of people can be transformed if the right circumstances are met.

Leave a Reply

