Design Reflection

I read this article about the theory that you must practice a skill 10,000 hours to master it. I have heard the 10,000 hour theory a few times before, and it seems to make sense. It really opened my eyes to how much time I have wasted playing meaningless video games or mindlessly scrolling through social media. I imagine how much better I could be at drawing or music now if I had been more clever with my time. I have become especially aware of my time management since I started my third semester of college. I am far busier with school than I ever have been in the past. This forces me to budget my time very carefully. If I waste too much time on weekdays doing nothing, I will have to spend my entire weekend climbing homework mountain instead of just most of it. I spend far less time playing video games than I did just a few months ago. I also opened my eyes to how much of a waste of time multiplayer competitive games are in particular. Until then, I mostly played competitive. I wanted to be as good as possible. To play at even a decent level, it takes so much practice and time, doing the same things over and over again, that could be spent on something with more of a long term benefit. I still play video games semi-frequently, but I usually opt for single player games with stories, visuals, or music that help inspire me to create.

I also read this article about the font used in Stranger Things and the guy who created it. He isn’t very famous, but he makes a lot of money in royalties from his font. It really draws my attention to the underappreciated font designers. There are very few, if any, names in font that are well known to the general public, yet font is all around us all the time.

One thought on “Design Reflection

Leave a Reply

