Lab 7: Subnetting

Objectives:

My objective in completing this lab was to develop an understanding of subnetting through hands on experience by building a working network with subnetworks with my class.

Equipment List:

8 Computers, seven switches, seven routers, Ethernet cables.

Notes and Observations:

We started with the network address 172.10.0.0, a class B network.  The default subnet mask for this network is 255.255.0.0.  We were to create 8 subnetworks, so we needed 3 bits for subnetting. The resulting mask, used by every device on the network was 255.255.224.0.

First, I had to disconnect my computer from the school network. I had to manually set my IP address, my subnet mask, and my gateway address. The gateway has to match the IP address of the router, which I set later.

I set my IP to 172.10.128.2

my subnet mask to 255.255.224.0

and my gateway to 172.10.128.1

netlab1

I had to plug my computer and a router into a switch. The router was also connected to a different switch that had two other computers connected to it. 20161104_110433

Next, I had to program the router. I set the IP address of the router to 172.10.128.1, the same numbers as my gateway.

Diagrams, Flowcharts, and Figures:

Here is a map of all the routers, switches, and computers used to create this network.

20161104_1119141

Conclusions:

In the end, the class network didn’t work. Chunks of computers were able to communicate successfully, but not all computers were able to communicate with one another. I got my computer and router to work, which is a huge step forward from the last time I worked with routers and switches, so I am satisfied. I was completely lost last time we built a network in class, but I felt like I somewhat understood it this time. This lab really made me appreciate the experts who can make networks function seamlessly and the fact that my home network almost always works.

Leave a Reply

