Lab 8: Video Making – Do the Hitch Cut

Objectives:

My objective in completing this lab was to observe how clips from different sources can be eddied together to tell a new story.

Equipment List:

Computer, video editing software.

Notes and Observations:

First, I had to rip an MP4 of this video.

I used an online service called pwnyoutube. I used Sony Movie Studio Platinum to isolate a clip of Hitchcock staring and a clip of him smiling. I then edited in my own clip to change the meaning of the video. I edited in this video I made earlier on in the semester of myself dancing and juggling with clubs.


Here is the finished video.

I thought of a funny little extension for this concept. I showed the first half of my video where I look normal, and then Hitchcock smiling. Then, I showed the second half of my video where I’m wearing clown makeup and I reversed the clip of Hitchcock so it would look like he scowls again.

I then looked at creative commons media  I could use for my networking midterm video about fiber optic cabling. I was actually supposed to use a creative commons song in the above video, but I thought my circus metal track fit the video really well, so I used it instead.

References:

https://creativecommons.org/licenses/

Questions:

The instructiosn for this lab contained several questions that will be answered in this section.

Which creative commons licenses could you use in your class video project? Why?

I could use media licensed under attribution, attribution-sharealike, attribution-noncommercial, or attribution-noncommercial, or sharealike.

Which liscenses allow you to use the work as long as you share your work with others through Creative Commons as well?

All of the sharealike licenses.

Conclusions:

This was a very simple and straightforward lab, but it served as a good look at how context and music can completely change the meaning of a clip.

Leave a Reply

