Lab – 9: Internet Servers

Objectives:

My objective in completing this lab was to create a working server that could be accessed by other machines.

Equipment List:

A computer with WAMP and Filezilla

Notes and Observations:

First, I installed WAMP on the computer.  I created an index webpage in the wamp64 folder shown bellow and then I went to that page by typing localhost into the address bar of my browser.

wamp02

Next, I had to install Filezilla on the computer. I opened Filezilla and created a user account. This allowed me to share files in the documentroot folder used by my WAMP website.

l902

References:

https://sourceforge.net/projects/filezilla/files/FileZilla%20Server/0.9.0/

http://www.wampserver.com/en/

Questions:

The instruction manual for this lab contains several questions. They will be answered here.

According to Netcraft, what is the most popular type of web server in operation? Has this always been the case?

Apache is the most poplar type of web server. Apache has gradually dropped in popularity, but it has been the most popular since at least 2000.

What does WAMP stand for?

Windows, Apache, MySQL, PHP

What is the main configuration file for the Apache server?

httpd.conf

What is FTP used for? When was it first introduced or developed?

FTP is used for transferring files across a network. It was first developed in June of 1980.

In general, what are TCP ports used for? What port do FTP servers run on? What port do Web servers run on?

Tcp ports are used to receive information on networks. FTP servers and Web servers usually use port 80.

Conclusions:

My homepage was accessible and editable from other machines in the lab, so I would call this lab a success. I am still confused by all the terminology, but I feel like I have a very basic understanding of how FTP servers function.

Leave a Reply

